14 Questions For Guitar Legend Robin Trower

Robin TrowerIt was the last advertisement for a concert that I could find when I was researching “9 Years Of Rock, The Story Of The Concerts at the Erie County Fieldhouse.” So many people told me that Robin Trower had played the Fieldhouse, but I couldn’t find any actual record of the show. Then, by chance one day, while I was quickly scrolling through microfilm of the Erie Times News from 1976, my eye caught a glimpse of something that looked like a guitar. I was scanning through the early part of the week to get to the weekend pages where the majority of the concert ads were placed, so I wasn’t paying much attention. But I hit the reverse button on the old machine in the library and slowed down the speed of the images  flashing across my screen until I saw it — the ad that would end my research and signal the start of the writing phase of this project.
I was reminded of that small ad last week when I realized it was the 38-year anniversary of that Robin Trower concert at the Fieldhouse. If you were there, you were among the lucky few (estimates put the crowd at fewer than 1,000) who experienced the early days of a man who is still revered as one of the great rock guitarists. In fact, he had unleashed his masterpiece “Bridge Of Sighs” just two years earlier.
Today, Trower is still going strong, having released his “Roots & Branches” album in February 2013. The album, a direct nod to his earliest blues influences, includes his unique re-imagining of cover tunes such as “Hound Dog,” “The Thrill Is Gone,” and “Born Under a Bad Sign.” I love this quote from Tony Conley’s review of the album:
“What shocks me is not that he’s done it again, as Trower has been on his game pretty consistently for the last decade, and every time a friend reports back from a show you’d think they’d seen ttrower ad(2)he man himself – no, not Him, I mean Hendrix. No guitarist I know of gets such reverential treatment from fellow players.”
Trower at the Erie County Fieldhouse 8/1976. Photo by Jim Ommert.

Trower at the Erie County Fieldhouse 8/1976. Photo by Jim Ommert.

I decided to see if the legendary guitarist would update me and the Fieldhouse Faithful on his current projects, his upcoming tour, and what he does in his (very little) spare time. Thankfully, with the help of his longtime agent Derek Sutton, I was able to get Trower to answer the following 14 questions. Oh, and if this blog rekindled some deep desire you have to see the Trower play live again, check out his upcoming tour which starts October 4th. And if you’re in Erie, the closest show is probably Cleveland’s House of Blues on Wednesday 10/15/14 (the most expensive seats are only $47.50!).
1. How many songs off of Roots & Branches can fans expect to hear on tour?
We have rehearsed four so far.
2. Approximately how long will each show be on this upcoming tour?
Most of my shows run about 90-95 minutes
3. On this tour, will you mix up the setlist sometimes, adding a different song or two for some gigs, or will it stay pretty much the same?
Once we get the set right, we usually play the same set each show for the entire tour.
4. So many artists these days do the paid VIP meet-and-greet. Is that something you do?
I’m not comfortable with that idea, so we don’t do it, except for an occasional charity. Most nights I try to meet fans after the show, and sign autographs. That seems to me to be a respectful way to interact with the audience.
5. What do you do during your downtime between shows on the road, and how is that different from what you did back in the 1970s when you toured?
We tour “on the ground” so there is little downtime, because we are always traveling. Nowadays when I’m home, I spend time playing every day and working on new material. In the 70s I didn’t practice at home, and I wrote most of the songs on the road.
6. You’ve been a Strat guy for so many years. How many do you have?
I have five Strats, all signature models made for me by Fender – plus a Gibson Dove.
7. How did you and Jack Bruce first come to play together. Was B.L.T. the first time you two collaborated?
Chrysalis brought us together the first time. I went to his place and played him some song ideas, he was into it, and that became BLT. We’ve stayed in touch over the years, and I really enjoy playing with him.
8. I recently interviewed Frank Marino, another iconic guitarist who was often compared to Hendrix. Have you ever met Frank? Have people ever compared your playing styles?
I never met Frank – I do remember doing one show with him in the 70s, and he did sound very good. I can’t remember anyone ever comparing our styles, though.
9. It’s often cited that Robert Fripp is one of the key artists you’ve influenced. Who has listed you as an influence that you were most surprised about?
I really don’t believe I influenced Robert Fripp! I did give him a Strat a long time ago, but he recently gave it back to me because he didn’t play it. I’m not aware of any other players claiming to be influenced by me.
10. Are there any new musicians/bands you enjoy listening to?
no
11. You’re 69, and you’ve released albums every few years since 1973. It doesn’t seem like your drive or passion has waned at all. From a health standpoint, how do you live your life to maintain that energy? For example, any special diet or exercise regime you stick to?
Probably most important is that I do not smoke or drink. I walk as much as possible – every day – even on the road.
I do stretching exercises when I remember, and I’m careful with diet, eating moderately, not too much of anything,.
But most important is no smoking or drinking.
12. You now have Facebook and Twitter pages, which I am assuming are managed by someone at your label. How often are you reading the comments on these channels? Do you have a smartphone that you use to peruse this content?
I’m not a computer person. I don’t do those social media things. But people read the interesting posts to me. They  usually ask me for my responses, and then post them for me. I don’t have a smartphone, but I did just get an iPad.
13. When you’re at home just relaxing and not writing or playing music, what do you like to do? Read? Watch TV? Garden? Paint? Etc.
I love to watch soccer on TV, and many other sports: cricket, tennis, baseball. But soccer is my favorite.
14. What’s next for you after this tour. Another album?
I have already recorded the next album, it’s supposed to come out in February. The UK/Europe tour starts in March of next year.Then I think we are booking the US West coast. There’s even talk of a Canadian tour!
I never want for things to do!
UPDATE 10/17/14 – My friends Jon and Sue Dudenhoeffer went to see Robin in Pittsburgh on 10/17/14 and he signed the page in my book with the photo of him playing at the Erie County Fieldhouse. Here’s a few camera phone photos. Here’s a link to some of the videos they took (audio is good, video is blurry).
IMG_1468 IMG_1469 FullSizeRender

One thought on “14 Questions For Guitar Legend Robin Trower

Leave a comment